Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Alert! This site will be unavailable from 8.30pm to 12.00am AEDT Tuesday 21 November for scheduled maintenance. We apologise for any inconvenience.


Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements

Under the joint Australian Government-State Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements (NDRRA), assistance is provided to alleviate the financial burden on states and territories. It also supports the provision of urgent financial assistance to disaster affected communities.

Under these arrangements, the state or territory government determines which areas receive NDRRA assistance and what assistance is available to individuals and communities.

Where the NDRRA is activated, the Australian Government will fund up to 75 per cent of the assistance available to individuals and communities. This contribution is delivered through a number of NDRRA measures and may include:

  • personal hardship and distress assistance
  • counter disaster operations
  • concessional loans or interest subsidies for small businesses and primary producers
  • transport freight subsidies for primary producers
  • loans and grants to voluntary non-profit organisations
  • the restoration or replacement of essential public assets
  • community recovery funds.

In addition, clean-up and recovery grants may be made available to assist businesses, including farm businesses, to resume trading as soon as possible. The grants may be used for clean-up activities, replacement of damaged equipment and stock, and other general repairs.

NDRRA assistance is delivered through state and territory agencies (ACT, NSW, NT, Qld, SA, Tas, Vic and WA).

For more detailed information refer to the NDRRA Determination 2017 below.

NDRRA Determination 2017

The NDRRA Determination 2017 applies from 1 July 2017, in respect of eligible disasters that occur on or after that date. The NDRRA Determination 2017 is available below:


Previous NDRRA Determinations

The NDRRA Determination 2012 (version 2) applies to eligible disasters that occurred on or after 29 October 2015, and up to or on 30 June 2017.

The NDRRA Determination 2012 (version 2) listed above replaced all previous Determinations outlined below: